PressPausePlay

The digital revolution of the last decade has unleashed creativity and talent in an unprecedented way, with unlimited opportunities. 

But does democratized culture mean better art or is true talent instead drowned out? This is the question addressed by PressPausePlay, a documentary film containing interviews with some of the world’s most influential creators of the digital era.

Just watched this truly incredible documentary about the changes the digital revolution did. A few great questions came up, answered by experts with great differences, which created a lot of space to think for yourself. For example:

I realized the other night that I was watching a movie and reading a book at the same time, or , more often, watching a movie and checking my email or watching a TV show and doing my work. I mean, we live in an incredible attention deficit culture. It is not like really strong consuming art and that is where creators are up against is that they actually have to trick people to watch them what they make.

– Lena Dunham

I often notice myself doing this. At this moment I am: writing this blog, Skyping, listening to an album I wanted to hear and preparing tomorrow’s work. There always is an urge to react on all the impulses that reach me. Everyone is trying to be up to date or searching to be inspired, but why is it so hard for me to watch this documentary and just sit, think about it and tell people about it if it is still on my mind next week.


Since I am in Dublin it is really to notice during Skype. When talking to my dad (interested in many subjects) I have the urge of keep sending links of things I saw and what inspired me, when at our next Skype-meeting he mentions that he missed half of it and if I could please tell it again.

If everybody is a musician and everybody is making mediocre music, eventually the world is covered in mediocrity. And people will start to be comfortable with mediocrity and that to me is the danger.

– Moby

The Doors, The Who, Buffalo Springfield, Crosby Stills Nash & Young; I tend to listen a lot to ‘old’ music. Why? Because I’m not sick of it after listening an album 10 times in a row. Is it true that we are settling more and more for mediocre art? Do the artists who are now ‘on the top of the charts’ have the same impact on music as the artists mentioned before had? But on the other hand, does it matter?

Watch PressPausePlay on VIMEO here.

More about this subject is in Seth Godin’s book Unleashing the Ideavrius!

Leave a Reply

